Beta Patterns: DokoKara Daytime (R05)

Fridays, 1:15 - 3:00pm

First Class: Fri, September 26, 2014
Teacher(s): Yuta Kato
Room: Small Classroom
Prerequisites: Beta Essentials

Learn DokoKara, directly from the composer! This exciting piece was originally commissioned and performed by Zenshin Daiko of Maui, graciously given to the taiko community as a "copyleft" piece your group can now use in its repertoire. Making creative use of "don" and "ka", this piece uses rhythms in a challenging and dynamic arrangement. The course teaches the full lead-nagado part, with an introduction to the jiuchi (base-beat) parts. LATIdama evaluation opportunity!

LATIdama required.

2013 DokoKara Recital at our very own Bounenkai event!

Outline of 12-Week Course

  1. Dokokara Oroshi and Ji
  2. 1 e a u Drill
  3. Individual Solo, Group Solo, Chaos
  4. Build Up
  5. Build Up in parts, Main Phrase
  6. Long Tag, Solo Outro
  7. Review of all Components, Short Phrase
  8. Coaching Session 1
  9. Coaching Session 2
  10. Coaching Session 3
  11. Coaching Session 4
  12. PEAC Week

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Fri, September 26, 2014 01
Fri, October 03, 2014 02
Fri, October 10, 2014 03
Fri, October 17, 2014 04
Fri, October 24, 2014 05
Fri, October 31, 2014 06
Fri, November 07, 2014 07
Wed, November 12, 2014 07.5
Fri, November 14, 2014 08 Coach
Fri, November 21, 2014 09 Coach
Fri, November 28, 2014 10 NO CLASS
Fri, December 05, 2014 11 Coach
Fri, December 12, 2014 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30