Odaiko Form: Odaiko Basics and Intro to Soloing (R07)

Fridays, 8:00 - 9:30pm

First Class: Fri, March 27, 2015
Teacher(s): Yuta Kato, Jen Baik
Room: Large Classroom

With efficiency and sustainability at its core, LATI fundamental classes explore the limitless potential of the relationship between body, bachi, and taiko.

Due to it's massive head-size, the odaiko resonates deeper than any other taiko; to make the odaiko ring, one needs to have great control over their bachi and body. The beauty of the odaiko doesn't stop just at being "big" though, the surface area also allows for a dynamic range of tones.

Using Omiyage (open-source taiko piece) as a vehicle, students will work on creating their own Odaiko introduction to set the tone for the rest of the piece.

Omiyage
Conceived by Bryan Yamami
Composed by Shoji Kameda
Originally performed by TAIKOPROJECT

Omiyage is the Japanese word for "gift". Conceptualized and created by TAIKOPROJECT to give back to the taiko community, Omiyage is a copy-left piece open to any taiko player interested in learning and performing the piece.

Important NOTE: LATI will be closed for the week of June 9~15 due to involvement in the North American Taiko Conference held in Las Vegas.

Outline of 12-Week Course

  1. Stance, Strike, 4-8-16-32
  2. Small Strikes and Ji, Large Strikes (Blah Blah Drill)
  3. Large Strikes (Walking)
  4. Large Strikes (Lying Down)
  5. Soloing, Ji's and playing together
  6. Structure of Omiyage
  7. Thoughts about Odaiko
  8. Coaching Session 1
  9. Coaching Session 2
  10. Coaching Session 3
  11. Coaching Session 4
  12. PEAC Week

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Fri, March 27, 2015 01
Fri, April 03, 2015 02
Fri, April 10, 2015 03
Fri, April 17, 2015 04
Fri, April 24, 2015 05
Fri, May 01, 2015 06
Fri, May 08, 2015 07
Fri, May 15, 2015 08 Coach
Fri, May 22, 2015 09 Coach
Fri, May 29, 2015 10 Coach
Fri, June 05, 2015 11 Coach
Fri, June 12, 2015 NO CLASS - Taiko Conference
Fri, June 19, 2015 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30