Odaiko Form: Odaiko Basics and Intro to Soloing (R10)

Fridays, 6-7:45pm

First Class: Fri, January 15, 2016
Teacher(s): Yuta Kato, Jen Baik
Room: Large Classroom

With efficiency and sustainability at its core, LATI fundamental classes explore the limitless potential of the relationship between body, bachi, and taiko.

Due to it's massive head-size, the odaiko resonates deeper than any other taiko; to make the odaiko ring, one needs to have great control over their bachi and body. The beauty of the odaiko doesn't stop just at being "big" though, the surface area also allows for a dynamic range of tones.

In this class students will learn the essential basics of approaching the Odaiko, rhythm exercises, and an introduction to Odaiko Soloing.

Outline of 12-Week Course

  1. Stance, Strike, 4-8-16-32
  2. Small Strikes and Ji, Large Strikes (Blah Blah Drill)
  3. Large Strikes (Walking)
  4. Large Strikes (Lying Down)
  5. Soloing, Ji's and playing together
  6. Soloing, Ji's and playing together
  7. Thoughts about Odaiko
  8. Coaching Session 1
  9. Coaching Session 2
  10. Coaching Session 3
  11. Coaching Session 4
  12. PEAC Week

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Fri, January 15, 2016 01
Fri, January 22, 2016 02
Fri, January 29, 2016 03
Fri, February 05, 2016 04
Fri, February 12, 2016 05
Fri, February 19, 2016 06
Fri, February 26, 2016 07
Fri, March 04, 2016 08 Coach
Fri, March 11, 2016 09 Coach
Fri, March 18, 2016 10 Coach
Fri, March 25, 2016 11 Coach
Fri, April 01, 2016 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30