Small Drum Patterns: Watashi Watashitachi (G03)

Tuesdays, 8pm -- 9:45pm

First Class: Tue, February 11, 2014
Room: Small Classroom
Prerequisites: Small Drum Essentials

Watashi Watashitachi is one of the taiko world's great pieces. Written by Shoji Kameda in 2004 and revised by On Ensemble over years of professional touring, the piece has been performed around the world, including the National Theater of Japan in 2013. Watashi Watashitachi utilizes a variety of advanced playing techniques to utilize a wide range of taiko tones. With fast, interlocking parts and compelling rhythms, the piece is an exciting showcase of taiko's smaller drums. Recently released as a copyleft work by the composer, Watashi Watashitachi is now part of LATI's repertoire.

Small Drum Patterns: Watashi Watashitachi teaches the structure and essential rhythms of the piece, with an emphasis on playing technique and timing. In-class individual feedback is supplemented with weekly homework assignments designed to be fun and easy to complete at home. The Small-Drum Essentials LATIdama is a prerequisite for the course.

Learn this amazing piece!

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, February 11, 2014 01
Tue, February 18, 2014 02
Tue, February 25, 2014 03
Tue, March 04, 2014 04
Tue, March 11, 2014 05
Tue, March 18, 2014 06
Tue, March 25, 2014 07
Tue, April 01, 2014 08
Tue, April 08, 2014 09
Tue, April 15, 2014 10
Tue, April 22, 2014 11
Tue, April 29, 2014 12
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30