08 Coach

Date: 
Tuesday, August 26, 2014 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi
ear plugs
pen & paper

Class syllabus: 

aisatsu - "douzo yoroshiku onegaishimasu!"

stretch

oroshi

individual hits

striking technique (emphasize confident strikes, not wasting energy to slow down striking)
-minimizing effort/energy
-maximizing sound
-partner assisted gravity hit(minimal muscle) exercise
-wrist snapping

4-8-16-32

4 minute challenge (easier pattern, slower bpm)
-learning a very simple pattern
-getting used to being recorded

pattern learning breakdown
learning sections of music utilizing:
-visual
-auditory
-kuchishoga
-familiarity

4 minute challenge (easier/intermediate pattern, 100 bpm)
-learn a pattern utilizing learned techniques

aisatsu - "arigatou gozaimashita"

Homework: 

post session homework: create 4 bars of music and have it written down in any preferred method (kuchishoga, western notation, your own made-up system, etc)

Teacher(s): 
Byron Yamada
Attendance: 
Sherri Hirai
Eric Lai
Emma Tsuchida
Susan Nishiya
Yumi Takada

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, June 24, 2014 01
Tue, July 01, 2014 02
Tue, July 08, 2014 03
Tue, July 15, 2014 04
Tue, July 22, 2014 No Class
Tue, July 29, 2014 Student Run Practice
Tue, August 05, 2014 05
Tue, August 12, 2014 06
Tue, August 19, 2014 07
Tue, August 26, 2014 08 Coach
Tue, September 02, 2014 09 Coach
Tue, September 09, 2014 10 Coach
Tue, September 16, 2014 11 Coach
Tue, September 23, 2014 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31