01

Date: 
Wednesday, February 12, 2014 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Welcome
- space overview
-- LATI / ATUS
-- lights, air, whiteboard, music stands
- instrument use
-- bachi
-- setting up drums
- class structure
- "Yoroshiku onegaishimasu"

Starting point video
- Renshuu-esque call and answer
-- quarter and eighth serial sticking
-- dogo poko
-- fuchi

Course goals
- learn LATI Renshuu rhythms and arrangement
- understand the fundamentals of large hits, small hits, da
- be able to play with the metronome
- kuchishoga: "do, go, po, ko, da, ga, su, n"
- notation basics

Today's goals
- grip, elbow bend
- loud to loud
- loud to soft
- soft to loud
- Renshuu B, D

Final announcements
- class pages at taiko.la
- 15-min post-class practice

Teacher(s): 
Kris Bergstrom
Attendance: 
Ryoma Ishii
Ming Tsai
Ritsuko Gandy

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Wed, February 12, 2014 01
Wed, February 19, 2014 02
Wed, February 26, 2014 03
Wed, March 05, 2014 04
Wed, March 12, 2014 05
Wed, March 19, 2014 06
Wed, March 26, 2014 07
Wed, April 02, 2014 08
Wed, April 09, 2014 09
Wed, April 16, 2014 10
Wed, April 23, 2014 11
Wed, April 30, 2014 12
M T W T F S S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31