03

Date: 
Saturday, April 12, 2014 - 13:00 to 14:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

Nagado Bachi
Earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Greeting

Stretch

Set-up

Review
Shitauchi (下打) - base keeper
Uwauchi (上打) - soloist

Shitauchi Review
Yuukichi (ゆうきち) - dondoko
Shabataki (しゃばたき) - donko
Honbataki (本ばたき) - zu - do zu

Uwauchi
Rt Hand -> Double Rt
Lt Hand -> Double Lt
Combine for Pattern 5

Practice Exercise
Pattern 1 Don Don DoDon - DoDon DoDon (R L LR - RL LR)
Pattern 2 DoDon DoDon Don DoDon DoDon (Free hand movement)
Pattern 3 DoDo - - DoDo - - DoDo - -DoDo - - (RL - - LR - - RL - - LR - - )
Pattern 4 dokodokodokodokodokodokodokodoko (RLRLRLRLRLRLRLRL)
Pattern 5 Don Don Don Don Don Don Don Don (R L L R R L L R)
Yuta Example Video

Combine Shitauchi and Uwauchi
Uwauchi starts Shitabyoushi
Shitauchi joins
Uwauchi starts solo (in this case Practice Exercise x 2)
Try on Yuukichi and Shabataki

Clean

Greeting

Homework: 

Chieko Kojima
Rokuninkai video
Watch and start thinking about what you like, rhythms, movement, expression, body language.
Start developing a "fuzzy image" of your ideal taiko-self.

Teacher(s): 
Yuta Kato
Attendance: 
Nadine Skye-Davis
Michi Hirose
Janis Chou
Pete Gago
Ernest Ruckman

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Sat, March 29, 2014 01
Sat, April 05, 2014 02
Sat, April 12, 2014 03
Sat, April 19, 2014 04
Sat, April 26, 2014 05
Sat, May 03, 2014 06
Sat, May 10, 2014 07
Sat, May 17, 2014 08
Sat, May 24, 2014 09
Sat, May 31, 2014 10
Sat, June 07, 2014 11
Sat, June 14, 2014 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29