Hachijo Form: Create Your Piece (R03c)

Sundays, 2:00pm - 3:45pm

First Class: Sun, March 30, 2014
Teacher(s): Yuta Kato, Jen Baik
Room: Large Classroom

Yuta Kato, Hachijo Daiko solo clip

Hachijo is one of the taiko world's great playing styles. Powerful and graceful, the form lends itself to both rhythmic and movement expression.
It is a strictly improvisational style of taiko played by only two people: the soloist and the base-beat player. Because of its simple nature, there is no limit to what two people can create together using just one drum.

In this course, students will learn the fundamentals necessary to play in the Hachijo-style,and will be guided through drills and exercises designed to help increase confidence in soloing and in becoming a thoughtful taiko player.

NOTE:
The 4th week of the class, will have a different start/end time.
Sunday, April 20, 12:00pm - 1:45pm

Quotes from some of our students:

"Learning Hachijo was so fun and freeing! The atmosphere and teacher couldn't have been better to learn a new style of taiko, one where expression is king. I'm really looking forward to more Hachijo!"
Helen Simmins-McMillin
"Effortless beauty from the masters...liberating fun in class! Playing Hachijo syncs you with your partner either during shitauchi or uwauchi...smiles all around! Thanks for a great experience!!!"
May Yee

Note: For Hachijo students, LATI is planning an August 2015 trip to Hachijo island, an amazing opportunity to participate in Hachijo taiko in the original setting with the islands' great players!

Outline of 12-Week Course

  1. Intro to Hachijo - Shitauchi Types/Uwauchi Concept
  2. Practice Exercise
  3. Combine Uwauchi and Shitauchi
  4. Speed Up Template
  5. Ending, Song, Chant
  6. Structure to your Solo
  7. Generic Solo and Starting your Solo
  8. Coaching Session 1
  9. Coaching Session 2
  10. Coaching Session 3
  11. Coaching Session 4
  12. PEAC Week

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Sun, March 30, 2014 01
Sun, April 06, 2014 02
Sun, April 13, 2014 03
Sun, April 20, 2014 04
Sun, April 27, 2014 05
Sun, May 04, 2014 06
Sun, May 11, 2014 07
Sun, May 18, 2014 08
Sun, May 25, 2014 09
Sun, June 01, 2014 10
Sun, June 08, 2014 11
Sun, June 15, 2014 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31