Hachijo Musicality: Hachijou Aikoukai 2016

Every two weeks on Sunday (6-8pm) or Friday (8-10pm)

First Class: Fri, January 01, 2016
Teacher(s): Yuta Kato, Masaharu Miyano
Room: Large Classroom

Hachijo Island is located 178 miles directly south of Tokyo. Unlike many folk taiko traditions based on religious rituals, Hachijo Daiko emphasizes community, expression, honesty, and thoughtfulness.
On Hachijo, taiko is part of everyday life. A taiko drum can often be found sitting in the corner of a local bar, for example, where farmers and fishermen celebrate music with family and friends.
Aikoukai - Lover's Association (google translate)

Hachijo Aikoukai - a club dedicated to studying, celebrating, and loving the art of taiko from Hachijo island.

$11/class for students have taken Hachijo Fundamentals in the past or have actually gone to Hachijo Island

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Sun, February 21, 2016 01 Shinnenkai
Sun, March 06, 2016 02
Sat, March 19, 2016 03
Sun, April 03, 2016 04 The Initiation
Sat, April 16, 2016 05 CANCELED (Bunkasai Performance)
Sun, May 01, 2016 06 Bachi BBQ Prep
Sat, May 14, 2016 07 CANCELED
Sun, May 29, 2016 08 CANCELED
Sat, June 11, 2016 09
Sun, June 26, 2016 10
Sat, July 09, 2016 11
Sun, July 24, 2016 12
Sat, August 06, 2016 13
Sun, August 21, 2016 14 - CANCELED
Sat, September 03, 2016 15
Sun, September 18, 2016 16
Sat, October 01, 2016 17
Sun, October 16, 2016 18
Sat, October 29, 2016 19
Sun, November 13, 2016 20
Sat, November 26, 2016 21
Sun, December 11, 2016 22
M T W T F S S
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31