01

Date: 
Tuesday, January 10, 2023 - 17:00 to 18:00
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

Chudaiko Bachi

Class syllabus: 

Aisatsu

Stretch
- Joint practice with Advanced Youth every Tu/Th 6-6:30pm
- Advanced Youth is working towards becoming a performing ensemble
- All three levels of youth (Beg, Int, Adv) will perform at ATUS 10th Anniversary Concert in July

BETA
1-minute drills (wrists, elbows, arms)

Renshu Review
- Each line (x2) together
- Split team: Front Row plays, Back Row joins offset

Dokokara Ka River Game

Joint Practice w/ Adv Youth
Explanation: "Uchikomi" striking into the drum
Play/practice to the point of not having to think about rhythm/movement

Don tsuku Doro tsuku
- Review/learn drill:
| ● - ・・| ● ● ・・| ● - ・・| ● ● ・・| (x2)
| ● ● ・・| ● ● ・・| ● ● ・・| ● ● ・・| (crescendo accented hits)
| ● ● ● ● | ● ● ● ● | ● ● ● ● | ● ● ● - |
(Refer to entire drill as "Body")

Uchikomi Structure
- Body (x1)
- Solo (Masa will teach rhythm/solo each week; this week is 4-8-16-32)
- Solo Tag (Body without tsukus)
| ● - - - | ● ● - - | ● - - - | ● ● - - | (x2)
| ● ● - - | ● ● - - | ● ● - - | ● ● - - | (crescendo accented hits)
| ● ● ● ● | ● ● ● ● | ● ● ● ● | ● ● ● - |
(Non-soloists play ji)

Run through until everyone solos (front row -> back row, left drum -> right drum)

Clean Up

Aisatsu

Teacher(s): 
Masaharu Miyano
Attendance: 
Drew Kato
Juneya Ishii
Jacqueline Galang
Jillian Galang
Kyle Tokunaga
Max Yeh
Shota Yoshikawa
Yoshito Ogawa

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, January 10, 2023 01
Thu, January 12, 2023 02
Tue, January 17, 2023 03
Thu, January 19, 2023 04
Tue, January 24, 2023 05
Thu, January 26, 2023 06
Tue, January 31, 2023 07
Thu, February 02, 2023 08
Tue, February 07, 2023 09
Thu, February 09, 2023 10
Tue, February 14, 2023 11
Thu, February 16, 2023 12
Tue, February 21, 2023 13
Thu, February 23, 2023 14
Tue, February 28, 2023 15
Thu, March 02, 2023 16
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29