09 - coach

Date: 
Wednesday, July 13, 2016 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Aisatsu

Slowplosion
Slowplosion A
Slowplosion B
Practice consistent tempo

Ji vs. Slowplosion
- Half class keeps downbeat ji, half plays Slowplosion patterns
- Goal is to understand relationship between pulse and Slowplosion -- hit together!

Maracas & Murder
Review Maracas
- Focus again on timing
Review Murder
- Understand how to modulate choreography for Murders 1-4
-- Murder 1: still extended, but smallest, most contained visual themes
-- Murder 2: Expanding a bit from the subtlety of Murder 1
-- Murder 3: Usual version
-- Murder 4: Allow the body to assist the arms in conveying the visual ideas

Maracas vs. Murder
- Half class plays Maracas, half plays Murder
- Goal is to understand the relationship between the two patterns so that each of them can be played accurately (and make it sound groovy!)

Peer Review
Break up into groups of two
Take turns giving individual notes
Each person plays:
- Maracas (8 phrases)
- Murder (one time, level 3)
- Slowplosion A
- Slowplosion B
Partners give comments with the following rules:
- Comment Oreo! Praise, Constructive, Praise
- Be specific! If praise, let your partner know exactly what is good about their playing. If constructive, give detail about what they can practice more.
- Thank your partner for their comments!

Run-through
Run sequence:
- Maracas
- Murder 1 & 2
- Maracas
- Murder 3 & 4
- Slowplosion A
- Slowplosion B

Individual Practice

Clean

Aisatsu

Teacher(s): 
David Wells
Attendance: 
Akari Sunaga
Aki Imai
Alex Ito
Caress Mauhili
Atsushi Domyo
Carmen Bran
Connie McOsker
Taka Natsuaki
Derrick Quach
Koji Kitagawa
Mandi Aoki
Mitsue Kajikawa
Nathan n1gh78un76r@gmail.com
Ritsuko Gandy
Cynthia Sato

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Wed, May 11, 2016 01
Wed, May 18, 2016 02
Wed, May 25, 2016 03
Wed, June 08, 2016 04
Wed, June 15, 2016 05
Wed, June 22, 2016 06
Wed, June 29, 2016 07
Wed, July 06, 2016 08 - coach
Wed, July 13, 2016 09 - coach
Wed, July 20, 2016 10 - coach
Wed, July 27, 2016 11 - coach
Wed, August 03, 2016 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31