Odaiko Form: Odaiko Basics and Intro to Soloing (R08) 11-Week Course

Saturdays, 2:00 - 3:45pm

First Class: Sat, June 27, 2015
Teacher(s): Yuta Kato, Jen Baik
Room: Large Classroom

With efficiency and sustainability at its core, LATI fundamental classes explore the limitless potential of the relationship between body, bachi, and taiko.

Due to it's massive head-size, the odaiko resonates deeper than any other taiko; to make the odaiko ring, one needs to have great control over their bachi and body. The beauty of the odaiko doesn't stop just at being "big" though, the surface area also allows for a dynamic range of tones.

In this class students will learn the essential basics of approaching the Odaiko, rhythm exercises, and an introduction to Odaiko Soloing.

Important NOTE:: This weekly course consists of 11 classes with a 2-week break between July 14 - 25.

Outline of 11-Week Course

  1. Stance, Strike, 4-8-16-32
  2. Small Strikes and Ji, Large Strikes (Blah Blah Drill)
  3. Large Strikes (Walking)
  4. Large Strikes (Lying Down)
  5. Soloing, Ji's and playing together
  6. Thoughts about Odaiko
  7. Coaching Session 1
  8. Coaching Session 2
  9. Coaching Session 3
  10. Coaching Session 4
  11. PEAC Week

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Sat, June 27, 2015 01
Sat, July 04, 2015 02
Sat, July 11, 2015 03
Sat, July 18, 2015 No Class
Sat, July 25, 2015 No Class
Sat, August 01, 2015 04
Sat, August 08, 2015 05
Sat, August 15, 2015 06
Sat, August 22, 2015 07 Coach
Sat, August 29, 2015 08 Coach
Sat, September 05, 2015 09 Coach
Sat, September 12, 2015 10 Coach
Sat, September 19, 2015 11 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31