20

Date: 
Tuesday, June 30, 2015 - 18:00 to 19:45
Room: 
Large Classroom

Ripple section jiuchi

Student should bring: 

tsukeshime bachi (usually smaller diameter, softer "hou" wood)
nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Notes from Carol

1. Kaeshi section - Toshi
This section was deferred because Toshi thought it would be better to learn when we are actually making the mochi. So, we will go over this part next week during our mochitsuki!

2. Ipponzuki - Andrew lead
Ipponzuku drill - M1-M4 with and without downbeat strikes.

3. Bozuki Tate - Charles was unable to make it. We read his notes and took the time to get comfortable with the "Erai" switch. For consistency, we decided that our top hand placement should be about 1 inch to 1 1/2 inches under the top of the bougine.

4. Bozuki Naname - Jessica lead
We all practiced the drumming in this section first. Then we practiced the ripple drill.

5. Bozuki Mawari - Sharon
We spent our time on the step out and turn to switch hands.

We spent about 20 min on each section.

For next week's mochitsuki:

Andrew will buy (turn in receipt to Toshi). and clean rice (thank you!!!). Jessica is the reminder. Kaitlyn will remind Jess to the remind Andrew

**Toshi has asked us to come to practice around 5:00-5:15 next week to help prepare for our mochitsuki**

Welcome - Carol lead
- take attendance
- help keep roughly to schedule

Kaeshi Training - Toshi lead

Ipponzuki Drill - Andrew lead
- M1, M3, M2, M4 no downbeat
- high-speed

Bozuki Tate section review - Charles lead
- basic form: vertical stance, bou allowed to arc back slightly
- "Erai" switch
-- new version: hand off with low hand, bou cross above, receive with free hand low (just above the other person's low hand)

Bozuki Naname section review - Jessica lead
- "together", two options
-- static stance
-- shifting stance
- "Ripple" drill

Bozuki Mawari experimentation - Sharon lead
- inside foot steps during "strike", turn away to switch hands with two steps
-- simple option: take break for kaeshi, need kaeshi request phrase
-- more complicated option: game or dance for bou holders while they wait for kaeshi?

clean, final announcements, close

Future
- ipponzuki form: lighted bachi experiment

Path to Bonenkai
- Mochitsuki 1 structure
- Mochitsuki 2 structure
- details practice (taiko, ipponzuki, bozuki, etc)
- audience participation structure
- additional instruments experimentation

Performance rough structure
kine structure
- (prep)
- oroshi (as hakobiya enters)
- jyunbi
- koneri
- ipponzuki
- dekiagari
- (mochikiri)
- (cleanup)
bozuki structure
- oroshi (as hakobiya enters)
- jyunbi
- tate
- roll
- naname
- mochi age
- mawari
- oshiage
audience participation structure

Attendance: 
Kris Bergstrom
Toshi Kato
Andrew Bordenave
Christopher Fong
Carol Fukuchi
Kaitlyn Higa
Sharon Hayashi
Charles Hsueh
Jessica Lord
Yumi Yamaoka
Tomoko Takahashi
Dina Aubrey

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, February 10, 2015 01
Tue, February 17, 2015 02
Tue, February 24, 2015 03
Tue, March 03, 2015 04
Tue, March 10, 2015 05
Tue, March 17, 2015 06
Tue, March 24, 2015 07
Tue, March 31, 2015 08
Tue, April 07, 2015 09
Tue, April 14, 2015 10
Tue, April 21, 2015 11
Tue, April 28, 2015 12
Tue, May 05, 2015 13
Tue, May 12, 2015 14
Tue, May 19, 2015 15
Tue, May 26, 2015 16
Tue, June 02, 2015 17
Tue, June 09, 2015 NO PRACTICE
Tue, June 16, 2015 18
Tue, June 23, 2015 19
Tue, June 30, 2015 20
Tue, July 07, 2015 21 - Mochitsuki
Tue, July 14, 2015 22
Tue, July 21, 2015 23
Tue, July 28, 2015 24
Tue, August 04, 2015 25
Tue, August 11, 2015 26
Tue, August 18, 2015 27
Tue, August 25, 2015 28 - mochitsuki
Tue, September 01, 2015 29
Tue, September 08, 2015 30
Tue, September 15, 2015 31
Tue, September 22, 2015 32
Tue, September 29, 2015 33
Tue, October 06, 2015 34
Tue, October 13, 2015 35
Tue, October 20, 2015 36
Tue, October 27, 2015 37
Tue, November 03, 2015 38
Tue, November 10, 2015 39
Tue, November 17, 2015 40
Tue, November 24, 2015 41
Tue, December 01, 2015 42
Tue, December 08, 2015 43
Tue, December 15, 2015 44
M T W T F S S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31