03

Date: 
Friday, October 9, 2015 - 18:00 to 19:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Aisatsu

Stretch

4-8-16-32
1-minute drills - Review Basics
32's - measure group BPM = 95BPM (Goal = 130)
4-8-16-32

Layering parts
GroupA 4
GroupB 8
GroupC 16
GroupD 32

Theme
A = One strike of the 4's
B = Two strikes of the 8's
C = Four strikes of the 16's
D = Eight strikes of the 32's
Chosen Phrases from Last week:
AACA BBCA
CCDB BDCA

Initial Simple Structure
Call and Response

  • Odaiko - 4
  • Beta - 8
  • Naname - 16
  • Shime - 32

Layer - Add on - individually, together for 4 full with Crescendo

  • Odaiko - 4
  • Beta - 8
  • Naname - 16
  • Shime - 32

Rest Rest "SO" "RE!"
Melody x 2
(AACA BBCA
CCDB BDCA)

Feature

  • Odaiko - 4 measures
  • Theme
  • Beta - 4 measures (focus: Movement)
  • Theme
  • Naname - 4 measures (focus: Hocket)
  • Theme
  • Shime - 4 measures (focus: speed, Yata-bayashi esque)
  • Theme

Hocketting
Split into 2 teams (Naname vs O+B+Sh)
using 16's
4 x 2
2 x 4
2-1-2-1-1-1
3-1-1-1-1-1
1-1-1-1 x 4

FOR Next Week
Kakegoe Practice
Don Ha x 4
Ha Don x 4
Teams switch back and forth

Create a Phrase
Split into groups of 2
Use components of 4-8-16-32 to create an 8 count phrase (try to find a melodic combo! potential is infinite!)

Clean

Thoughts on the future:
Things to think about -
-audience participation
-how we can get the whole school to be a part of this
-is this song for you?
-what style do you want to play eventually?

Aisatsu

Teacher(s): 
Yuta Kato
Attendance: 
Bill Hartung
Debbie Pepper
Diane Fujimori
Ernest Ruckman
Jeffrey Higa
Jennifer Trochez
Linda Moriyama
Michi Hirose
Ritsuko Gandy
Shino Kokubu
Steve M Moriyama

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Fri, September 25, 2015 01
Fri, October 02, 2015 02
Fri, October 09, 2015 03
Fri, October 16, 2015 04
Fri, October 23, 2015 05
Fri, October 30, 2015 06
Fri, November 06, 2015 07
Fri, November 13, 2015 08 Coach
Fri, November 20, 2015 09 Coach
Fri, November 27, 2015 10 Coach
Fri, December 04, 2015 11 Coach
Fri, December 11, 2015 13 Extra Practice
Fri, December 11, 2015 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30