08 - coach

Date: 
Tuesday, January 3, 2017 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Small Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Aisatsu

Warm-up
Roll exercise (focusing on certain techniques each time)
- Bottom fulcrum
- Top fulcrum
- Isolate wrist motion

Oroshi
- Play as group and individually
- Notes from individual section:
-- Maintain sound quality & even strikes throughout entire oroshi
-- Maintain strong kata (mainly, don't lean over when speeding up during the roll)
-- If slowing down, challenge yourself to practice ending as slowly as you start
-- If the "feel" of the oroshi (pacing, etc.) is getting comfortable, start focusing back to basic strike technique

Oroshi Sequence
Play Oroshi sequence from Class 04
- For DoRo oroshi part, make sure LH accent is stronger than the RH accent so both hits can be heard
- Practice counting hits aloud to make sure we're at the same spot in the music

Orientation ABCD
Review all patterns

A - O---|----|O---|----|O---|----|O---|----
B - --o-|--o-|--o-|--0-|O---|O-O-|0-o-|o-o-
C - ooo-|--oo|o---|--oo|o---|oo..|..oo|....
D - ----|O-oo|-o-o|-o-o|o-oo|-o-o|o-o-|ooo-

Breakdown patterns and practice for sticking/accuracy

Indiv. practice

Clean
Aisatsu

Homework: 

Practice ABCD patterns

Teacher(s): 
David Wells
Attendance: 
Daryl Hokama
Tanya Hokama
Rachel Caparino
Isabel Molina
Nancy Morishita

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, November 01, 2016 01
Tue, November 08, 2016 02
Tue, November 15, 2016 03
Tue, November 22, 2016 04
Tue, November 29, 2016 05
Tue, December 06, 2016 06
Tue, December 13, 2016 07
Tue, January 03, 2017 08 - coach
Tue, January 10, 2017 09 - coach
Tue, January 17, 2017 10 - coach
Tue, January 24, 2017 11 - coach
Tue, January 31, 2017 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29