02

Date: 
Wednesday, February 18, 2015 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Welcome
- Course goals
-- grip
-- stance
-- intro to the three strike types
-- learn and perform the Kuyou Oroshi
-- love taiko, get to know one another
- today's goal: grip and stance practice, large strike intro, Kuyo Oroshi intro

Warmup: call and answer ("serial sticking")

Individual feedback on grip and medium strike
- Grip - front-view: copycat R hand (watch 4 me, watch 4 self) then L hand
-- first priority: relaxation
-- handshake position of wrist
-- thumb and the "V"

Individual feedback on stance
- use post-its

16s Drill
- review first section
- test random numbers (students pick)

Large strike introduction
- using gravity
- letting the bachi "whip"

First three hits of first oroshi

Clean, close

Teacher(s): 
Kris Bergstrom
Attendance: 
Ray Klein
Satomi Boge

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Wed, February 11, 2015 01
Wed, February 18, 2015 02
Wed, February 25, 2015 03
Wed, March 04, 2015 04
Wed, March 11, 2015 05
Wed, March 18, 2015 06
Wed, March 25, 2015 07
Wed, April 01, 2015 08 - coach
Wed, April 08, 2015 09 - coach
Wed, April 15, 2015 10 - coach
Wed, April 22, 2015 11 - coach
Wed, April 29, 2015 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31