09

Date: 
Sunday, April 6, 2014 - 12:00 to 13:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Warm up: Wait til 8 @138
-practice individual hands focusing on strike basics. Waiting until last moment to strike
-expand to 4, 8, 16, 32 slowly

Oroshi
-explore individual strikes to simultaneous arms

Learn M1-4 @ bpm = 114
-pay attention to how beats fit into metronome clicks
-classes rushes M4
-drill: play dogo dogo dogo dogo, dogo kara dogo kara w/ metronome

Practice otsuri with metronome
-tendency is to rush. Especially last da da

Learn M1-4 extended

Challenge: play random 4em sections to get familiar with all patterns
-add extended ems as extra challenge

Homework: 

M Patterns:

M1-4 Normal = M pattern + otsuri ( 1 em length)
Otsuri: Don Da Ga Da Da
M1: Don Su Don Su + otsuri
M2: Don Don Su Don + otsuri
M3: Su Don Su Don + otsuri
M4: Dogo Daga Don Gon + otsuri

M1-4 Extended = M pattern x3 + Otsuri (2 em length)
ex) M1 Ext: Don Su Gon Su Don Su Gon Su Don Su Gon Su + otsuri

M1-4 Halves = M pattern (1/2 em length)

Teacher(s): 
Jen Baik
Attendance: 
Ruth Lucas
Sharon Ishida
Brian Wada
Taka Natsuaki
Stacey Nakasone

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Sun, February 09, 2014 01
Sun, February 16, 2014 02
Sun, February 23, 2014 03
Sun, March 02, 2014 04
Sun, March 09, 2014 05
Sun, March 16, 2014 06
Sun, March 23, 2014 07
Sun, March 30, 2014 08
Sun, April 06, 2014 09
Sun, April 13, 2014 10
Sun, April 20, 2014 11
Sun, April 27, 2014 12
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31