10 - coach

Date: 
Wednesday, April 20, 2016 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Small Classroom
Student should bring: 

tsukeshime bachi (usually smaller diameter, softer "hou" wood)
nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

8:00-8:10
Aisatsu

8:10-8:30
Do we know the kuchishoga for Maracas? ga do gi da gang da gi de

Are we able to play the rhythm accurately in time at about 50-60 bpm?

Do we know how to get an accurate "gang" sound? How do we get the "da" sound to be more accurate?
-What part of the stick do we play with?
-What part of the drum does it hit?
-At what angle does the stick hit the drum?
-Are we doing it the same way every single time?

Please make sure we're consciously thinking of these things, when we play Maracas slow.
Then, work on committing them to muscle memory when we drill them.

Do we know all the variations of Maracas?

Drilled all variations of Maracas from slow to fast in small groups and all-one.

8:30-9:00
Do we know the difference between Murder 1, 2, 3 and 4?

"Bachi lag" makes the motion larger. When playing Murder 1 and 2, reduce the amount of "bachi lag" by locking the elbows and wrists.

Are we able to play Murder accurately at about 50-60 bpm?

Are the "ka" sounds consistent?
-What part of the stick do we play with?
-Are we doing it the same way every single time?

Drilled Murder from slow to fast in small groups and all-one.

9:00-9:20

All students practiced, Coach went around and gave each person individual feedback

9:20-9:25 Break

9:25-9:40

Drilled Maracas and Murder

Teacher(s): 
Isaku Kageyama
Attendance: 
Akari Sunaga
Rosemeri Abe
Atsushi Domyo
Audrey Han
Carmen Bran
Connie McOsker
Eri Williams
Koji Kitagawa
Mandi Aoki
Mitsue Kajikawa
Nathan Wong
Ritsuko Gandy
Vivian Lee
Yuko Tamura
Taka Natsuaki

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Wed, February 17, 2016 01
Wed, February 24, 2016 02
Wed, March 02, 2016 03
Wed, March 09, 2016 04
Wed, March 16, 2016 05
Wed, March 23, 2016 06
Wed, March 30, 2016 07
Wed, April 06, 2016 08 - coach
Wed, April 13, 2016 09 - coach
Wed, April 20, 2016 10 - coach
Wed, April 27, 2016 11 - coach
Wed, May 04, 2016 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31