Odaiko Form: Odaiko Basics and Intro to Soloing (R12)

Saturdays, 2:00-3:45pm

First Class: Sat, July 09, 2016
Teacher(s): Yuta Kato, Jen Baik
Room: Large Classroom

With efficiency and sustainability at its core, LATI fundamental classes explore the limitless potential of the relationship between body, bachi, and taiko.

Due to it's massive head-size, the odaiko resonates deeper than any other taiko; to make the odaiko ring, one needs to have great control over their bachi and body. The beauty of the odaiko doesn't stop just at being "big" though, the surface area also allows for a dynamic range of tones.

In this class students will learn the essential basics of approaching the Odaiko, rhythm exercises, and an introduction to Odaiko Soloing.

Price and Purchase
$264 for whole all 12 weeks (purchase online or at Asano Taiko US)
$96 monthly installments every 4 weeks (purchase online or at Asano Taiko US)
Purchase Online - make sure to click on appropriate class title

Outline of 12-Week Course

  1. Stance, Strike, 4-8-16-32
  2. Small Strikes and Ji, Large Strikes (Blah Blah Drill)
  3. Large Strikes (Walking)
  4. Large Strikes (Lying Down)
  5. Soloing, Ji's and playing together
  6. Soloing, Ji's and playing together
  7. Thoughts about Odaiko
  8. Coaching Session 1
  9. Coaching Session 2
  10. Coaching Session 3
  11. Coaching Session 4
  12. PEAC Week

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Sat, July 09, 2016 01
Sat, July 16, 2016 02
Sat, July 23, 2016 03
Sat, July 30, 2016 04
Sat, August 06, 2016 05
Sat, August 13, 2016 06
Sat, August 20, 2016 07
Sat, August 27, 2016 08 Coach
Sat, September 03, 2016 09 Coach
Sat, September 03, 2016 10 Coach
Sat, September 24, 2016 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31