07

Date: 
Sunday, September 22, 2013 - 14:00 to 15:30
Room: 
Small Classroom
Class syllabus: 

opening

405 structure
- M1 interactive
- following soloist's dagada da for tempo: take turns playing M1 and controlling tempo

"situation" solutions
- brainstorm problems
-- soloist loses beat (switching upbeat to downbeat)
-- soloist loses position in structure
-- soloist drops batchi
-- second soloist forgets to switch in
-- tempo is too fast
-- soloist forgets cue
-- Rock Solids mistake (Ayamari)

quiz
- When playing transition music, where should we look?
- Which structure involves a switch to half-tempo at the soloist switch?
- What are the three principles of the Rock Solids?
- Which structure has the slowest jiuchi?
- Which structure gets to the fastest tempo?
- Which structures involve tempo changes?
- What was the intended purpose of the "glitch" jiuchi?
- Which structures allow for "doubles" competition?

ender
- 60 jam session w asalato

closing
- CicLAvia
- coaching session overview
- week 12 goals
-- ability to play all 6 Rock Solids basebeats for final in-class battle
--- kakeai
--- solo length
--- groove
--- "situation" solutions
-- LATIdama

Teacher(s): 
Kris Bergstrom
Attendance: 
Helen McMillin
Stacey Nakasone
Yuta Kato
Julia Asano
Tracey Oshiro

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Sun, August 11, 2013 01
Sun, August 18, 2013 02
Sun, August 25, 2013 03
Sun, September 01, 2013 04
Sun, September 08, 2013 05
Sun, September 15, 2013 06
Sun, September 22, 2013 07
Sun, September 29, 2013 08
Sun, October 06, 2013 09
Sun, October 13, 2013 10
Sun, October 20, 2013 11
Sun, October 27, 2013 12
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30