03

Date: 
Wednesday, April 19, 2017 - 18:00 to 19:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

Nagado Bachi
Earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Greeting : "Yoroshiku Onegaishimasu"

Stretches

Stance/Position/Prep/Grip
Stance - make a square with your feet
Height - Center of body = Center of Hitting Surface
Distance - Shoulder to tip of sticks straight - bachi tips touching center of drum
Grip - leaving about an inch at the bottom grip with Pinky and Ring Finger

4-8-16-32
Wrist (32) - focus on loose grip and bounce
Elbow (16) - make triangle with arms and bachi, while elbow kept still facing drum head
Whole Arm Individual (4) - straight and loose on the up, elbow bent all the way, push forward and catch the bouncing bachi at right angle
Wole Arm (8) - independent arm motion
Practicing how to count - 32: 1 e + u
4 - 8 - 16 - 32

Sounds and Symbols
● = Don/Doko/Doro
・= Tsu/Tsuku
X = Ka/Kara
Yuta sings -> Students play

Important Drills
● ●・・= Dorotsuku
X X ● ● = Karadoko/ ● ● X X = Dokokara

Renshu Daiko
meaning and history
Learn all lines A~D
A is A
B - two humps
C - "c" sound
D - one hump
E - empty

Dokokara Drill
1 e a u Drill - 1 accent review
Special 2's (on board) Yuta playing - https://youtu.be/NcBX8WndDro

10 minutes alone - "ignore eachother" practice

Clean

Greeting: "Doumo Arigatou Gozaimashita"

Teacher(s): 
Yuta Kato
Attendance: 
Carol Okuda
Grace Miyake
Noriko Lee
Patsy Matsushita
Robyn Benjamin
Shivaun Jones
Images: 

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Wed, April 05, 2017 01
Wed, April 12, 2017 02
Wed, April 19, 2017 03
Wed, April 26, 2017 04
Wed, May 03, 2017 05
Wed, May 10, 2017 06
Wed, May 17, 2017 07
Wed, May 24, 2017 08 Coach
Wed, May 31, 2017 09 Coach
Wed, June 07, 2017 10 Coach
Wed, June 14, 2017 11 Coach
Wed, June 21, 2017 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31