01 (KB)

Date: 
Sunday, January 13, 2019 - 13:00 to 14:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, "ho" or maple wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

prep: drums in position, extra bachi

course concept
- series of self-contained challenges
- concept -> drill -> feedback -> drill -> application (challenge pattern, game, jam, etc)

key skills for Dokokara
1) big strike
-- loose grip
-- empowering stance
-- clarity, speed (arm mechanics)
-- followed by quiet tsuku

2) tsuku v ka
-- DA gu du GA du gu DA GA

3) counting
-- sets of 4
-- through cutouts
-- da tsu da tsu vs tsu ga tsu ga, in two counting versions

4) soloing

warmup: 4-8-16-32 Drill?

16's Drill: RRRR

1eau ka: 1's section

welcome
- name, looking forward to 2019

Teacher(s): 
Kris Bergstrom
Attendance: 
Chelsea Chen
Craig Vincent-Jones
Chris Olson
Jose Ho
Katie Durnbaugh
Kaitlyn Imamura
Maryse Fujimori
Mimi Nichols

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Sun, January 13, 2019 01 (KB)
Sun, January 20, 2019 02 (KB)
Sun, January 27, 2019 03 (DW)
Sun, February 03, 2019 04 (KB)
Sun, February 10, 2019 05 (KB)
Sun, February 17, 2019 06 (VL)
Sun, February 24, 2019 07 (JB)
Sun, March 03, 2019 08 (JB)
Sun, March 10, 2019 09 (JB)
Sun, March 17, 2019 10 (JB)
Sun, March 24, 2019 11 (KB)
Sun, April 07, 2019 12 PEAC (KB)
M T W T F S S
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30