01

Date: 
Tuesday, August 12, 2014 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

skills explanation
- fundamental strikes (sm, m, lg)
- rhythmic (relation to the bar, subdivisions, keeping the pulse)
- movement (grace, independence, flow)
DRILL - 15 min copycat: beta, 8th notes, each rhythm at least 8x
TIP - how drills work
- not "repetition", "improvement is change"
- "excellence is an adaptation"
- constantly changing challenge: 100 workers
DRILL - med strike: 16s Drill
TIP - understand success and failure
DRILL - small strike: speed (taking turns)
DRILL - large strikes: 8th note serial sticking improv
- jiuchi

Teacher(s): 
Kris Bergstrom
Attendance: 
Carol Fukuchi
Sharon Hayashi

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, August 12, 2014 01
Tue, August 19, 2014 02
Tue, August 26, 2014 03
Tue, September 02, 2014 04
Tue, September 09, 2014 05
Tue, September 16, 2014 06
Tue, September 23, 2014 07
Tue, September 30, 2014 08 - coach
Tue, October 07, 2014 09 - coach
Tue, October 14, 2014 10 - coach
Tue, October 21, 2014 11 - coach
Tue, October 28, 2014 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31