10

Date: 
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Aisatsu

Drills
4-8-16 ensemble timing (with metronome!)
- 4 parts: each part is responsible for one beat, e.g. Don (Player 1) Don (P2) Don (P3) Don (P4) [for quarter notes]
- For split lines, players will divide beats accordingly, e.g. Do (Player 1) Ko (P2) Do (P3) Ko (P4) Do (P1) Ko (P2) Do (P3) Ko (P4) [for 8th notes]
- Use metronome and various practice methods to practice ensemble timing
- Today's patterns: Qtr notes, 8th, split 8th, 16th, 16th split by 2, 16th split by 1
- Play in both straight and swing beat

Ensemble Copycat!
- Just like regular copycat, but everyone is responsible for their own beat (similar to above)

Solo practice
Soloist makes up ji, everyone else plays that ji, then soloist solos over it

Yodan
Review all sections part by part
Run-through (without solos)

Clean

Aisatsu

Teacher(s): 
David Wells
Attendance: 
Andres Lopez
Andrew Bordenave
Kaitlyn Higa
Sherri Hirai
Tomoko Takahashi
Yumi Yamaoka

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, January 08, 2019 01
Tue, January 15, 2019 02
Tue, January 22, 2019 03
Tue, January 29, 2019 04 - Bye Bye Hiromi
Tue, February 05, 2019 05
Tue, February 12, 2019 06
Tue, February 19, 2019 07
Tue, February 26, 2019 08
Tue, March 05, 2019 09
Tue, March 12, 2019 10
Tue, March 19, 2019 12
Tue, March 19, 2019 11
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31