Naname Form: Stance and Strike (R11)

Wednesdays, 6-7:45pm

First Class: Wed, April 06, 2016
Teacher(s): Yuta Kato, David Wells
Room: Large Classroom

With efficiency and sustainability at its core, LATI fundamental courses explore the powerful relationship between body, bachi, and taiko.

Discover the dramatic potential of the naname (slant) drum position! Naname style is one of taiko's great forms, empowering full-body rhythm and movement Recommended for all levels, Naname Form: Stance and Strike is a prerequisite for many exciting LATI courses: Omiyage, The Hot 7, etc.

Important NOTE: LATI will be closed for the week of May 31-June 6 due to involvement in Maui's Taiko Festival with Zenshin Daiko.

Outline of 12-Week Course

  1. Intro - Stance, Position, Strike
  2. 4 - 8 - 16 - 32 and Dorotsuku
  3. Dorotsuku and Renshu
  4. Don TsuKu/Don KaRa and Renshu
  5. Renshu
  6. Matsuri Daiko, Introduce Ka Drill
  7. M1-4, Extended, 'ish, Crescendo, Ka Drill
  8. Coaching Session 1
  9. Coaching Session 2
  10. Coaching Session 3
  11. Coaching Session 4
  12. PEAC Week

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Wed, April 06, 2016 01
Wed, April 13, 2016 02
Wed, April 20, 2016 03
Wed, April 27, 2016 04
Wed, May 04, 2016 05
Wed, May 11, 2016 06
Wed, May 18, 2016 07
Wed, May 25, 2016 08 Coach
Wed, June 01, 2016 No Class
Wed, June 08, 2016 09 Coach
Wed, June 15, 2016 10 Coach
Wed, June 22, 2016 11 Coach
Wed, June 29, 2016 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31