02

Date: 
Sunday, May 22, 2016 - 15:00 to 15:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Welcome
- warmup
-- arm swings
-- lunges (name, fav. taiko inst./style, # places lived, mayo yes/no)

- survey results
-- too slow: 3
-- just right: 13
-- too fast: 2

Murder chunk A, step 4
- all-1 with jiuchi
- all-1 with changing tempo jiuchi

Murder chunk B, step 4
- all-1 with ji
- all-1 with changing ji

Maracas
- review sticking, kuchishoga: build-in

- future
-- maracas in context
-- flow tone precision
-- gang paradiddles

next patterns: Slowplosion A and B
- Slowplosion A line 2 sticking and basic rhythm
-- copycat for sticking
-- alternating sticking and kuchishoga
- importance of kuchishoga explanation
- Slowplosion line 2
- combine

future
- Slowplosion A line 1 sticking and kuchishoga:
-- overlapping turns
-- "singled out" (I keep 16th notes and point/clap to individuals to play)
- Slowplosion A line 1 flow: build and release, whole body
-- from Murder chunk 3 "ga da da ga ralada ralodon..."
-- choreo: independence of R and L
--- 1 "gon ga" during R pull up (actual), 2 "gon ga", 3 "gon ga", etc

practice

ender: Murder, Slowplosion A lines 1-2 together

clean and close
- taikosurvey.org
- KBHF housing
- no class June 5

Teacher(s): 
Kris Bergstrom
Attendance: 
Alex Ito
Andres Lopez
Chris Johnson
Courtney Mikamo
Kenni Kawahara
Lisa Rosenbaum
Mitsue Kajikawa
Ritsuko Gandy
Sasen Cain
Wesley Rodriguez

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Sun, May 15, 2016 01
Sun, May 22, 2016 02
Sun, May 29, 2016 03
Sun, June 12, 2016 04
Sun, June 19, 2016 05
Sun, June 26, 2016 06
Sun, June 26, 2016 07
Sun, July 10, 2016 08 - coach
Sun, July 17, 2016 09 - coach
Sun, July 24, 2016 10 - coach
Sun, July 31, 2016 11 - coach
Sun, August 07, 2016 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31