10

Date: 
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 - 18:00 to 19:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Required reading: 
Student should bring: 

Chudaiko Bachi

Class syllabus: 

Aisatsu

Stretch

Set Up
-Hachijo Stands, Naname Stands

SFTD Drill (Modified)
Naname plays drill Rt, Rtx, Lt, Ltx x2 (2 beats to switch -- 1eau x2)
8 beats to switch from Naname to Hachijo or vice versa
Notes to practice
- Extensions
- Stance
- Timing/Swing "feel"
- X-form strike tech

Nidan Uchi
B/suB
- Work on timing and swing feel
- Focus on extensions
- Compact strikes
- Don't rush the ends of the lines: think about the "n" in "Don"

Review Turns technique
- Box step
- Footwork timing
- Strike technique (applied X-form)
- Maintain vertical extensions

Review Wash
- RH turn + LH turn
- Footwork
- Sticking

Practice Tosha + Wash
Practice A, 8, C, B, T, Wash

Clean

Aisatsu

Homework: 

Videos from Sharon:
PW. Ilovetaiko

Playing the Ji
https://vimeo.com/336721805

Clearing the Drum
https://vimeo.com/336721918

Order of Playing the Pattern
https://vimeo.com/336722033

Slow Motion Tosha
https://vimeo.com/336722139

Feet Motion for Turns
https://vimeo.com/336722203

The 8 Sticking
https://vimeo.com/336722348

Yuta Playing the Entire Structure
https://vimeo.com/336722413

Teacher(s): 
David Wells
Attendance: 
Alexandre Johnson
Cayli La
Debbie Lin
Eri Williams
Esperanza Orpia
Gail Kaneko
Kim Masumi
Kathryn Iwanaga
Krystal Young
Maggie Chiang
Michi Hirose
Mitsue Kajikawa
Noriko Lee
Patsy Matsushita
Patsy Shintani
Robyn Benjamin
Sharon Ishida

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Wed, April 03, 2019 01
Wed, April 10, 2019 02
Wed, April 17, 2019 03
Wed, April 24, 2019 04
Wed, May 01, 2019 05
Wed, May 08, 2019 06
Wed, May 15, 2019 07
Wed, May 22, 2019 08
Wed, May 29, 2019 09
Wed, June 05, 2019 10
Wed, June 12, 2019 11
Wed, June 19, 2019 12
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30