08 - coach

Date: 
Tuesday, September 29, 2015 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Small Classroom
Student should bring: 

tsukeshime bachi (usually smaller diameter, softer "hou" wood)
nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Lightning Quick Review!
Stance
Grip
Roll exercise
Basic Strike Technique
- Small hits
- Medium hits
- Large hits
- Focus on relaxation and speed

4-8-16-32
Consider what technique should be used for each pattern
Understand the relationship between each pattern so that we can change patterns without changing tempo!
Practice going from 16 to 32 accurately

Oroshi
Play as diagnostic
Focus on breathing and body language to start together
Ear training
- Understand the rate at which the ensemble is speeding up
- Make *small* adjustments in our own playing to synchronize
- Play with our eyes closed to emphasize listening
Play oroshi in two groups
- This emphasizes our ability to listen and interpolate how the ensemble will play

Homework: 

Roll exercise on a pillow at least once for 5 minutes

Teacher(s): 
David Wells
Attendance: 
Sharon Hayashi
Carol Fukuchi
Joy Takeuchi
Miya Yung
Nancy Morishita
Naiwei Hsu

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, August 11, 2015 01
Tue, August 18, 2015 02
Tue, August 25, 2015 03
Tue, September 01, 2015 04
Tue, September 08, 2015 05
Tue, September 15, 2015 06
Tue, September 22, 2015 07
Tue, September 29, 2015 08 - coach
Tue, October 06, 2015 09 - coach
Tue, October 13, 2015 10 - coach
Tue, October 20, 2015 11 - coach
Tue, October 27, 2015 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31