02

Date: 
Wednesday, August 19, 2015 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Small Classroom
Student should bring: 

tsukeshime bachi (usually smaller diameter, softer "hou" wood)
nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

warmup: copycat

stance review
- L leg bent, R relatively straight
- arms outstretched
- okay to tweak torso for R arm
- feet angle
- pi angle

grip review
- ring finger, bachi slides on palm
- how do we know if we're doing it correctly?
-- sensation of bachi falling into thenar web space
-- bachi bounce
-- later use lighted bachi?

practice time
- individual feedback, others rest

large strike
- apex position
-- falling on angle
-- letting bachi bounce
- wrist angle on axis (no bachi?)
- explore elbow bend
-- none
-- max

notation overview
- w/ kuchishoga

M1, M2

Teacher(s): 
Kris Bergstrom
Attendance: 
Carmen Bran
Connie McOsker
Eri Williams
Irene Tanaka
George Tanaka
Mandi Aoki
Mei Gandy
Mitsue Kajikawa
Yuko Tamura

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Wed, August 12, 2015 01
Wed, August 19, 2015 02
Wed, August 26, 2015 03
Wed, September 02, 2015 04
Wed, September 09, 2015 05
Wed, September 16, 2015 06
Wed, September 23, 2015 07
Wed, September 30, 2015 08 - coach
Wed, October 07, 2015 09 - coach
Wed, October 14, 2015 10 - coach
Wed, October 21, 2015 11 - coach
Wed, October 28, 2015 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31