Odaiko Form: Odaiko Basics and Intro to Soloing (YK14)

Wednesdays, 6:00-7:45pm

First Class: Wed, January 11, 2017
Teacher(s): Yuta Kato, David Wells
Room: Large Classroom

With efficiency and sustainability at its core, LATI fundamental classes explore the limitless potential of the relationship between body, bachi, and taiko.

Due to it's massive head-size, the odaiko resonates deeper than any other taiko; to make the odaiko ring, one needs to have great control over their bachi and body. The beauty of the odaiko doesn't stop just at being "big" though, the surface area also allows for a dynamic range of tones.

In this class students will learn the essential basics of approaching the Odaiko, rhythm exercises, and an introduction to Odaiko Soloing.

Price and Purchase
$264 for whole all 12 weeks (purchase online or at Asano Taiko US)
$96 monthly installments every 4 weeks (purchase online or at Asano Taiko US)
Purchase Online - make sure to click on appropriate class title

Outline of 12-Week Course

  1. Stance, Strike, 4-8-16-32
  2. Small Strikes and Ji, Large Strikes (Blah Blah Drill)
  3. Large Strikes (Walking)
  4. Large Strikes (Lying Down)
  5. Soloing, Ji's and playing together
  6. Soloing, Ji's and playing together
  7. Thoughts about Odaiko
  8. Coaching Session 1
  9. Coaching Session 2
  10. Coaching Session 3
  11. Coaching Session 4
  12. PEAC Week

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Wed, January 11, 2017 01
Wed, January 18, 2017 02
Wed, January 25, 2017 03
Wed, February 01, 2017 04
Wed, February 08, 2017 05
Wed, February 15, 2017 06
Wed, February 22, 2017 07
Wed, March 01, 2017 08 Coach
Wed, March 08, 2017 09 Coach
Wed, March 15, 2017 10 Coach
Wed, March 22, 2017 11 Coach
Wed, March 29, 2017 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31