01

Date: 
Wednesday, January 11, 2017 - 18:00 to 19:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

Odaiko Bachi
Earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Aisatsu

Orientation
About the Facility
What you are getting into
History of Odaiko (Ondekoza and Eitetsu Hayashi)
-Shoji's words - lifetime goal to aim for bringing out full potential of Odaiko
12-week Course System
Make-up
taiko.la
Odaiko Bachi
Student Intros

Stretch

Stance and Position
Square Stance - width and depth equal
Arms - Horizontal to ground or higher bachi tips along main strike zone circle
Distance from drum - arms straight with fingers stretched out- fingertips touching drum
Sit into Stance - Establish with your legs the chair and Sit into it with your hips facing forward

1-minute drills
With loose grip - 2 versions (pinky/ring grip, web between thumb and pointer finger grip)
Neutral grip
Wrist
Elbow

Larger strikes
Whole arm motion (no body)

4-8-16-32
Switch!

FUN
1 e a u Compass Drill

Clean

Aisatsu

Teacher(s): 
Yuta Kato
Attendance: 
Alex Ito
Andrew Bordenave
Carol Okuda
Christine Elegino
Ernest Ruckman
Gail Kaneko
Ariel R
Mari Kaneko
Noriko Lee
Patsy Matsushita
Robyn Benjamin
Sean Kobashigawa
Susie Nishiya
Wendy Ito

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Wed, January 11, 2017 01
Wed, January 18, 2017 02
Wed, January 25, 2017 03
Wed, February 01, 2017 04
Wed, February 08, 2017 05
Wed, February 15, 2017 06
Wed, February 22, 2017 07
Wed, March 01, 2017 08 Coach
Wed, March 08, 2017 09 Coach
Wed, March 15, 2017 10 Coach
Wed, March 22, 2017 11 Coach
Wed, March 29, 2017 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30