11 - coach

Date: 
Tuesday, July 26, 2016 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Small Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Aisatsu

Warm-up
Roll exercise
4-8-16-32
- Practice variation of drill to work on accurate timing

Quick technique review
Basic Hitting Technique
- Wrists
-- Proper grip, relaxation, evenness, stick control
- Elbows
-- Bend elbows!, whip-like motion, efficient bachi path
- Shoulders
-- Correct starting position, extended drawbacks, pull down from "bachi tree"

Oroshi
Practice yama oroshi
Introduce kizami oroshi
Take turns leading and ending the oroshi!
- Leader gets to say which type of oroshi to play

Call and response
2 beats (1eau2eau)
- Make sure to prepare for the first beat
- Even while preparing, listen all the way through the phrase
- Successful syncopation depends on strong understanding of the pulse
Expand to 4 beats
Take turns as the caller for 4-beat phrases

Renshu
Review
Practice playing parts in round

Individual practice

Clean

Close

Teacher(s): 
David Wells
Attendance: 
Hiroka Fujimoto
James Yamanoha

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, May 10, 2016 01
Tue, May 17, 2016 02
Tue, May 24, 2016 03
Tue, June 07, 2016 04
Tue, June 14, 2016 05
Tue, June 21, 2016 06
Tue, June 28, 2016 07
Tue, July 05, 2016 08 - coach
Tue, July 12, 2016 09 - coach
Tue, July 19, 2016 10 - coach
Tue, July 26, 2016 11 - coach
Tue, August 02, 2016 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31