02 (2pm!)

Date: 
Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 14:00 to 15:00
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
socks (possible spinning)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

prep
- whiteboard greetings
- music
- stands (4,4,4)

welcome
- introductions
- where "Fundamentals" fits within Block concept
- bachi required (hou is best, maple second, no kashi)
- set drums
-- 2 curlers
-- 4 wide receivers

stretch and workout
- Jack Bazaar high fives
- full-body check-in
- wrists
- Heave Ho
- core exercises
-- abs
-- planks
-- superman
- arms / legs at drums (jogging / jacks during switch)
-- R stance: legs, R cw/ccw, L cw/ccw
-- x-position: Hedgetrimmer
-- spin out

stance and strike
- 5 min to music: loud on big parts (90bpm), switching with partner

prep for strike
- teach jiuchi (teketen su teketen 2 3 4)
-- next: teketen su teketen su teketen
- check: wrist/elbow position, torso, elbow/grip during strike
- dan gon R
-- UP
-- DOWN
-- THROUGH
-- ANYTHING
- dan gon dan gon L
-- R UP
-- R DOWN
-- R OVER
-- ANYTHING

bachi lag
- wheat / CW / wheat / CCW

full-body motions: Slowplosion A
- no bachi
- bachi, no drum
- with bachi
-- offsets

closing

also in attendance

Teacher(s): 
Kris Bergstrom
Attendance: 
Hiroka Fujimoto
Preston Ohta
Randall Bustamante
Tina Heath
Yoshi Murakami

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Sun, August 06, 2017 01
Sun, August 13, 2017 no class - NATC!
Sun, August 20, 2017 02 (2pm!)
Sun, August 27, 2017 03
Sun, September 03, 2017 04
Sun, September 10, 2017 05
Sun, September 17, 2017 canceled
Sun, September 24, 2017 07
Sun, October 01, 2017 08 - coach
Sun, October 08, 2017 09 - coach
Sun, October 15, 2017 10 - coach
Sun, October 22, 2017 11 - coach
Sun, October 29, 2017 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30