12 PEAC

Date: 
Wednesday, July 30, 2014 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

welcome
- personal updates
- Dana taking break
- coaching session

warmup: 16s Drill

M-pattern game
- two M patterns, "old" "new offset"
- next player offsets "old" by the number of the "new offset"
- so if the the first player plays "M1" "M2", the next player would add two to M1 and play "M3" "new offset"

- history/terminology quiz
-- taiko, bachi, naname, beta, o-daiko, "yoroshiku onegai shimasu", "arigato gozai mashita"
-- What do we call "don daga dan dan"?
-- What does the "M" in M1-4 stand for?
-- What group do we credit with having inventing the naname stand and playing style?
-- What is the difference between Sukeroku Daiko and Oedo Sukeroku Daiko?
-- Is the naname form copyrighted?

Stairway to Heaven runthroughs
- photo shoot
- individual feedback / notes

revisit goals
-- grip
-- large strike
-- medium strike
-- quiet strike - okay to have taught 64 so soon?
-- fuchi
-- M patterns
-- QES notes
-- intro to beautiful movement
--- grace (extension, relaxation)
--- control (speed, position)
--- relevance to the instrument (timing of strikes, axis)
--- independence
-- counting/timing - waiting until proper moment to go

wrapup
- clean
- primers
- next courses

Teacher(s): 
Kris Bergstrom
Attendance: 
Christopher Fong
Sharon Hayashi
Carol Fukuchi
Eric Lai

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Wed, May 07, 2014 01
Wed, May 14, 2014 02
Wed, May 21, 2014 03
Wed, May 28, 2014 04
Wed, June 04, 2014 05
Wed, June 11, 2014 06
Wed, June 18, 2014 07
Wed, June 25, 2014 08 coach
Wed, July 02, 2014 09 coach
Wed, July 09, 2014 10 coach
Wed, July 16, 2014 11 coach
Wed, July 23, 2014 NO CLASS
Wed, July 30, 2014 12 PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30