02

Date: 
Tuesday, February 17, 2015 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

welcome
- introductions

copycat warmup
- R
- L
- alternating, serial sticking
- movement

grip review: looseness
- side-facing beta, with lighted bachi
-- explore tight vs loose grip w medium strike
-- explore bounce
--- hand stays down, tip comes up
- apply to naname
-- practice on own, give feedback
-- individuals try, observers stand on chair

strike plane review
- front-facing beta, with lighted bachi
-- explore wrist rotation w medium strike
-- explore elbow position
- apply to naname
-- practice on own, give feedback
-- individuals try, observers at front

stance review
- ask three variables, check each
- post-it tabs on floor, practice getting into stance without looking down

large strike: R elbow
- beautiful elements: 1) tone 2) relaxed strike
- R repeated hits, help with elbow toward drum

ender: M1 copycat, focus on Otsuri don

Teacher(s): 
Kris Bergstrom
Attendance: 
Aisha Alahmad
Sage Alahmad
Ritsuko Gandy
Jomya Lei
Raymond Jimenez
Russel Nishida
Lori Nishida

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, February 10, 2015 01
Tue, February 17, 2015 02
Tue, February 24, 2015 03
Tue, March 03, 2015 04
Tue, March 10, 2015 05
Tue, March 17, 2015 06
Tue, March 24, 2015 07
Tue, March 31, 2015 08 - coach
Tue, April 07, 2015 09 - coach
Tue, April 14, 2015 10 - coach
Tue, April 21, 2015 11 - coach
Tue, April 28, 2015 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29