05

Date: 
Tuesday, March 10, 2015 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Welcome
- today's goal: large R strike, direction of energy
- warmup: quick stretch and 2vs3 Jacks

warmup: 16's Drill
- "Pass the Buck"
- whole drill (rotating every two)
- pause for stance check at halfway
-- what are the three variables of stance?
--- distance
--- pi angle
--- stance angle

large R strike review
- 8 hits (separated by 8 counts)
- what are three characteristics of the beautiful big strike?
-- tone: probably main, but dependent on all the other goals
-- relaxation: key! but only exciting in conjunction with...
-- speed: continuous acceleration, speed at impact
-- clear strike axis: all energy goes directly into drum
-- grace of bachi: free to move in the most natural, simple path
- stance check
- 8 hits
- starting up position
- 8 hits
- first split second
- 8 hits
- upper arm as impetus: assist with push
- 8 hits
- hand goes away from body at end so finished position is extended
- 8 hits

large L strike
- 16 hits (separated by 8 counts)
- stance check
- 16 hits
- starting up position
- 16 hits
- first split second
- 16 hits
- upper arm as impetus: assist with push
- 16 hits

ender: copycat
- M patterns
- slightly more complicated, Otsuri-based patterns

future: simultaneously pulling up while striking ("8" of 4-8-16-32)

Teacher(s): 
Kris Bergstrom
Attendance: 
Jomya Lei
Raymond Jimenez
Russel Nishida
Lori Nishida
Ritsuko Gandy

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, February 10, 2015 01
Tue, February 17, 2015 02
Tue, February 24, 2015 03
Tue, March 03, 2015 04
Tue, March 10, 2015 05
Tue, March 17, 2015 06
Tue, March 24, 2015 07
Tue, March 31, 2015 08 - coach
Tue, April 07, 2015 09 - coach
Tue, April 14, 2015 10 - coach
Tue, April 21, 2015 11 - coach
Tue, April 28, 2015 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29