09 - coach

Date: 
Tuesday, April 7, 2015 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Single Strike Diagnostic

Technique Review
- Strong stance
- Grip: primarily bottom fulcrum
- Relaxed strike (elbow toward drum!)

Roll
- Relaxation is paramount
- Focus on even sound (space between hits and volume of L and R)

Oroshi
- Combine large and small strike technique
- Use ears to play together

4-8-16-32
- Focus on basic technique
- Also play with jiuchi changing tempo: listen and play together!

Copycat

Homework: 

Practice and solidify basic strike technique!

Teacher(s): 
David Wells
Attendance: 
Aisha Alahmad
Sage Alahmad
Ritsuko Gandy
Raymond Jimenez

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, February 10, 2015 01
Tue, February 17, 2015 02
Tue, February 24, 2015 03
Tue, March 03, 2015 04
Tue, March 10, 2015 05
Tue, March 17, 2015 06
Tue, March 24, 2015 07
Tue, March 31, 2015 08 - coach
Tue, April 07, 2015 09 - coach
Tue, April 14, 2015 10 - coach
Tue, April 21, 2015 11 - coach
Tue, April 28, 2015 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29