08 - coach

Date: 
Tuesday, March 31, 2015 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Large Classroom
Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

4-8-16-32 Diagnostic

Technique Review
- Practice relaxed strike technique
- Isolate elbow motion toward the drum
- Practice engaging points of motion in sequence (shoulder, elbow, wrist, bachi tip)

4-8-16-32 Application

Separation of Movement
- 8 hits x2, 4 hits x4, 2 hits x8, 16 single strikes
- Smooth drawbacks with off-hand while main hand is hitting
- Strong hits on main hand!

Roll
- Relaxation is paramount
- Focus on even sound (space between hits and volume of L and R)

Oroshi
- Combine large and small strike technique
- Use ears to play together

Copycat
- Anticipate the "one"

Teacher(s): 
David Wells
Attendance: 
Jomya Lei
Russel Nishida
Ritsuko Gandy
Raymond Jimenez
Lori Nishida

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, February 10, 2015 01
Tue, February 17, 2015 02
Tue, February 24, 2015 03
Tue, March 03, 2015 04
Tue, March 10, 2015 05
Tue, March 17, 2015 06
Tue, March 24, 2015 07
Tue, March 31, 2015 08 - coach
Tue, April 07, 2015 09 - coach
Tue, April 14, 2015 10 - coach
Tue, April 21, 2015 11 - coach
Tue, April 28, 2015 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31