07

Date: 
Tuesday, March 24, 2015 - 20:00 to 21:45
Room: 
Large Classroom

Student should bring: 

nagado bachi (usually larger diameter, harder "kashi" wood)
earplugs

Class syllabus: 

Welcome
- today's goal: review the drills, take video
- warmup: quick stretch and 2vs3 Jacks
- Hello Coach! - VIDEO

warmup: 16's Drill
- teach "2" and "1" sections of "Ladder of Ladders"
- run "Ladder of Ladders" drill (see http://taiko.la/ttt/16s-drill
- whole 16's drill - VIDEO

4-8-16-32 Drill
- teach small strike
- teach 32 section
-- associating count with R hand, different tempos
- whole drill - VIDEO

review course goals
- why naname?
---- to allow movement
---- to emphasize the line of the strike
---- asymmetry of body, arms
- what are the three variables of stance?
---- pi angle
---- distance
---- stance angle
- what are three aspects of the beautiful strike?
---- tone
---- relaxation
---- grace of free bachi movement
---- speed
---- clarity of strike axis

copycat
- from M patterns to more complicated, otsuri-based movement - VIDEO

clean and close

Teacher(s): 
Kris Bergstrom
Attendance: 
Aisha Alahmad
Sage Alahmad
Lori Nishida
Russel Nishida
Jomya Lei
Raymond Jimenez

Classes in this Course

Date Title
Tue, February 10, 2015 01
Tue, February 17, 2015 02
Tue, February 24, 2015 03
Tue, March 03, 2015 04
Tue, March 10, 2015 05
Tue, March 17, 2015 06
Tue, March 24, 2015 07
Tue, March 31, 2015 08 - coach
Tue, April 07, 2015 09 - coach
Tue, April 14, 2015 10 - coach
Tue, April 21, 2015 11 - coach
Tue, April 28, 2015 12 - PEAC
M T W T F S S
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30